Brown Bookstore

Toggle Search
Skip to main content
Help

Product Detail

Cover Image For Al-Nakib, Mai

Al-Nakib, Mai

The Hidden Light of Objects
Author: Mai Al-Nakib
Publisher: Bloomsbury; Pub. Date: September 2015; Subject: Fiction;

"Winner of the 2014 First Book Award from Edinburgh International Book Festival.
--For fans of Alice Munro and Lorrie Moore.

A young girl, renamed Amerika in honor of the United States' role in the liberation of Kuwait, finds her name has become a barometer of her country's growing hostility toward the West. A middle-aged man dying from cancer looks back on his extramarital affairs and the abiding forgiveness of his wife...The headlines tell of war, unrest, and religious clashes. But if you look beyond, you will see life in the Middle East as it is really lived--adolescent love, the fragility of marriage, pain of the most quotidian kind.

Mai Al-Nakib's luminous stories unveil the lives of ordinary people--and the power of objects to hold extraordinary memories.”--publisher description

--Local customers, choose ‘Pick up at Store’ during checkout and your book will be held at Trade Customer Service for you.
--And, if you live in Providence, choose ‘Local Delivery-Prov.’ at checkout to have your book delivered to your door for free if your order is $25.00 or more ($3.00 otherwise).

ISBN-13: 978-992710116-8

Item: 992710116

Price: $14.00

QTY:
Add To Cart

This item has been added to your Cart.

Privacy and Disclaimer
I.1.A

© 2018 Brown University Bookstore    |    Back to top